Home > About > Directors

Board of Directors

Donald Rissmiller*


Donald Rissmiller is a founding partner of Strategas and has been the Firm’s chief economist since 2006, directing its macroeconomic research effort. He oversees Strategas’ high-frequency econometric forecasting and thematic economic research.

Kathleen Stephansen*

Vice Chair of Programs

Kathleen Stephansen is an Independent Trustee for the AXA-Equitable Trusts, a Senior Economist for Haver Analytics and a Senior Economic Advisor to the Boston Consulting Group Henderson Institute Center for Macroeconomics. She is the former Chief Economist of Huawei Technologies, Chief Economist of the American International Group (AIG) and AIG Asset Management’s Senior Strategist and Global Head of Sovereign Research.

Peter A. Gold, Esq.*

Vice Chair

Peter A. Gold, Esquire is the founder and president of TheGoldGroup, LLC [www.thegoldgrp.com]. Since 2007, the consultancy has brought businesses, universities, governments and not-for-profits together to create value, seize new opportunities, leverage assets, meet new challenges and reduce exposure to the risks created by today’s global economy.

E. Martin Heldring*


E. Martin Heldring, senior vice president and managing director of TD Bank, N.A, joined GIC’s Board of Directors in 2008. Prior to his current position, he was president and CEO of Harris – Glencoe.

George Tsetsekos, Ph.D.*


George Tsetsekos is dean emeritus and the Francis Professor of Finance at Drexel University’s LeBow College of Business.

Michael Drury*

Chairman Emeritus

Michael Drury is the chief economist for McVean Trading & Investments, LLC. He joined the firm in 1992, after serving for five years as senior economist with Allen Sinai at Shearson Lehman Brothers and its successor firms.

Manuel Balmaseda

Manuel Balmaseda is the chief economist at CEMEX, a leading global building materials corporation. Previously he served as chief economist for Spain and Europe at BBVA, chief economist for Capital Markets at BBV, professor of economics at CEMFI and visiting researcher at the Federal Reserve Bank in Minneapolis.

Mike Begeman

Mike serves as executive chief of staff for CEO Kelby Krabbenhoft at Sanford Health and as vice president for public affairs for the system.

Ray C. Dillon

Ray Dillon was President and Chief Executive Officer for Deltic Timber Corporation from 2003-2016. Since his arrival, Mr. Dillon brought to the company a revitalized focus on efficiency and personal accountability within all levels of Deltic’s operations.

Sean Heberling, CFA

Mr. Sean Heberling, CFA is President of Marion Street Capital, a boutique investment firm. He is a Director at the CFA Society of Philadelphia, a member Society of the CFA Institute, the preeminent organization for Finance professionals.

J. Paul Horne

Paul Horne is an active independent international market economist since retiring as a managing director and European equity market economist at Salomon Smith Barney/Citigroup in London.

Justin Hyde

Justin Hyde is co-founder and co-CEO of Hero Partners, and co-Founder and chairman of The Bronze Buffalo Club and The Bronze Buffalo Foundation.


*Executive Committee Member
†Global Society of Fellows Member